Workout Wednesday

Today we’re switching things up around here and I’m bringing you someone really special. She’s actually my weight loss twin. We’ve both lost 90 pounds! I told you some of my story yesterday, but one of my best friends is going to tell hers today. You see her beautiful face all over my Instagram and loving on my little boy. Now it’s time to hear her amazing work-in-progress and you can cheer her on as we both enter our next weight loss challenge together!

Meet “L”!

img_7746

My journey started when I found out I had diabetes at 23 years old. I was in denial for about 6 months and then decided to start “sort of” doing better—like drinking less sodas and adding more water. Well “sort of” didn’t work. I still couldn’t keep my sugar under control and I felt horrible, then something just clicked! I decided I needed to be the healthiest version of myself that I could be. I started eating right but I was NOT about to work out because I was not about that life or sweating.

img_7749

After losing my first 30 pounds, I hit a small plateau. I decided maybe I should add some light cardio AT HOME. I added some dance fitness from YouTube because I love to dance and used to be a dancer. This sure did kick start it again. I started losing more and adding more cardio because now I was just having fun! I wanted to add more and had done Zumba in the past with another teacher but never saw any results. I decided to give it another chance. I posted on Facebook that I was looking for a local Zumba class and everyone kept posting with this Wendy person. I was like well heck I’ll message this woman and see what she has to say. She gave me the times and prices and told me that she would be looking forward to myself and my mother coming to Zumba. Well the next Monday night I was there!

img_7750

Completely unsure what to expect from this class but totally satisfied. I started out on the back row, sweating my guts out, and completely confused by the choreo but I was determined to get it right!! One class lead to two and two classes lead to 30!! I slowly started moving to the front as I started learning the choreo and was able to keep up better. Where can y’all find me now? Right on the front row, shaking and grooving with the rest of them!

Shortly before starting Zumba, I also decided to add weight training. Now before you say I don’t want to be all muscular, I said that same thing. I am very lucky to work with a group of women that have taught me so much not only about exercise but how the human body works. They taught me that adding weight training and toning to my workout will help my metabolism and will make me leaner and firmer. I thought killing myself on the elliptical or treadmill for an hour at a time was the only way to lose weight and to look better. NOT!

img_7748

I started off in my living room (after my dance fitness) with 3 pound weights and I pinned beginner weight exercises (arm, legs, and abs) on Pinterest. I also added some body weight exercises like wall sits, planking, and squats. I started doing those twice a week. After I got my confidence up and strength I added more weight and decided to go to the gym. I started going to lift the free weights they had in there and I started researching more arm exercises that were a little harder. I started slow and worked up. When I could tell the weights were getting easier to push and lift, I added 5 more pounds. I was so intimidated by the machines that I didn’t even touch them. I was afraid I would kill myself or worse break one of the machines! One of my coworkers started going regularly with me and we started trying new exercises we had seen on Pinterest or on Instagram. It really was getting fun now! We decided instead of working our whole body three times a week that we would dedicate a day to each muscle group….for instances Mondays and Thursdays I do arms and back, on Tuesdays we do legs and butt, Wednesday we work on shoulders and abs, and Fridays are a free for all (whatever isn’t killing us from the week). I try to lay off of legs on Zumba days for obvious reasons (I ain’t tryin’ to die!!) We do all of this on our lunch breaks so we typically do 30 minutes of cardio, whether that be treadmill, elliptical, or bicycle, and then 30 minutes of weights.

img_7747

I lost over 10% body fat just within months. I can tell a difference in how I feel and how my clothes feel. Over the past two years, I have lost over 90 pounds!!!!! I have very little sagging skin from lifting weights and cardio. I also have managed to keep my sugar under control and have gone from taking 4 pills a day to taking one sometimes none depending on how my sugar is. I’m not saying any of it is easy but I can promise you it is totally worth it. I have more energy now than I did when I was 15. It’s amazing what exercise can do for you.

If you would like to leave a comment on this post to show “L” support, encouragement, and love please do! Feel free to also leave her questions below if you’d like to know more about her weight loss journey as well! 

 

4 thoughts on “Workout Wednesday

Leave a Reply

