Ten More Days…

Recovery last week left me feeling a little like this…

Frustrated. Bored. Mad. Sore.

I thought I could start walking and be right back to feeling like myself until I reached day three. And I was sore, swollen, and miserable. I realized pretty quickly that this was not going to be as easy as I thought. I slowed things back down and rested. It took about two days to recover from that.

During my recovery my husband has been working on a really amazing project at the house. We started it before my surgery and I can’t wait to show y’all the before pictures once it is finished, but it is amazing. My husband was a landscaper before we started working together and he is so creative. He can take my ideas and make them so much more stunning.

Unfortunately where he excels in landscaping, he severely lacks in housekeeping. He has done an amazing job at taking care of me. This past weekend I felt strong enough to scrub the kitchen. I have not opened my microwave since I deep cleaned before surgery. I am not a microwave using person. I just prefer my crockpot. Since I know my son can’t reach the microwave, that leaves one other person in our house…

It took me 15 minutes to scrub it. It’s a good thing he’s cute.

So it feels amazing to have one room of the house “Mama Clean”. You ladies know what I mean. No one cleans like we do.

I’m celebrating all kinds of victories this week! On Sunday morning I had the energy to fix my hair and go to church for the first time since surgery. I really needed it too! I felt peace just wash over me as soon as I walked in. It was great to see so many smiling faces around me too.

Shopping has been my struggle. I cannot push a cart or lift so it has been interesting. I actually ran into friends in the store so it makes it more fun!

C and I tackled Walmart together for the first time. I finally was cleared to drive. It surprises me how many core muscles it takes to drive and how sore I was. He literally did everything for me and I was still exhausted. Thankfully we made it through and didn’t have to call my husband.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness month and my son wears pink for one of my best friends who beat breast cancer. He loves her so much and we joke that he loved her first. I am so proud that he walks onto the field supporting someone so dear to us and knows exactly why he does it. He just fills my heart with so much joy.

Our football games are always early. Thank goodness for coffee. C’s team is still undefeated and it has been so much fun to watch them play this year! We will start the playoffs in two weeks and it will get even more exciting.

I am fairly sure week three’s recovery is starting out much better and I am getting closer to that post-op check up! I am just so ready to be cleared from my surgery. I am ready to put this behind me and move forward.

img_7613

I might possibly be playing ZUMBA music already and looking at new choreo. I may even be playing around with new ideas for the fitness program and waiting for October 20th to get here. I’m impatiently waiting to “Mama Clean” the entire house again. I’m trying so hard to be still another ten days. Just ten more days…

Leave a Reply

