Going Gluten Free? Me???

I’ve been busy catching up on life after vacation. I’m one of those strange people who actually likes coming back from a vacation because it feels really awesome to have a break from life and then return with a sense of renewed purpose. On vacation I’m that person who thinks of goals and recommits to things in life. Yes, my husband calls me a nerd and I’m actually proud of it. It’s just who I am.

I have projects I want to complete around the house and things I want to accomplish. I work for a marina and summer is our busiest season. Things are beginning to wind down and I will have some time to work on things around the house. My to-do list is coming together and I’m so ready to get started.

Once my stepkids return to their other home after the summer I want to do a gluten free trial. If you’re new here, I suffer from migraines (read about it HERE) and I am still finding my triggers. I have recently discovered that I am violently triggered by rice. I haven’t met anyone else like me and there’s really not much information about a rice trigger, but there may be a link to gluten sensitivity or intolerance from what I’ve researched. It’s possible I may be sensitive to all grains. I’m not really sure yet, but I am willing to give it a try. My goal in the next few weeks is to eliminate grains, preservatives, and additives from my diet to determine if my migraines are in fact related to that. I chose to wait for my two stepchildren to go to their other home because I didn’t want to disrupt their diets and completely upturn the whole family for the last week of their stay. So I plan to start next week and see how it goes from there. I’ve created a Pinterest board {HERE} where I will be pinning recipe ideas to help me get through. You can follow along if you want to try it out with me!

I’m also ready to get back on track with my fitness goals. Summers are tough around here because we are normally running 100+ MPH with our family of 5 and we try to mesh two different families together with different eating styles. My husband and little boy don’t mind eating healthy with me all year long, but I try not to go all out with my stepchildren. I sneak in what I can and we compromise on the rest while they are here. Maybe going grain free for a couple of weeks won’t be so bad for my whole body… Ha!

img_7138
I’m loving my new Tervis tumblers I picked up on vacation. One of my friends asked me to share my latest ones….


You can find the Anchor and Pearl Tervis {HERE}. It is super cute! There’s also a matching shirt I picked up too.

Simply Southern® - Compass Rose Glitter

And this is the Simply Southern Compass Rose Tumbler. You can find it {HERE}. They are both super cute.

I’ve been asked to include a food menu for my meal plan on Facebook. If you’re interested, please make sure you’re following my blog via email, Facebook, or anywhere else I hang out. I don’t mind sharing it at all as we go along. I provided the easy links below:

FacebookPinterestInstagramYouTube

If you plan to join me next week, please leave me a comment below! Let me know what you’re curious about, any questions you may have, any concerns or struggles and I will address them in our first series post! 

Leave a Reply

