Foodie Friday 

I’ve got a house full of hungry kids this summer and I unfortunately cannot go all out healthy on them without a full rebellion. I have one that wants to eat ramen noodles every single day, the other wants to eat pure sugar, and the third would gladly survive on Lunchables every meal. Sadly for them, that’s not going to work for me. Luckily if you put a healthy meal in front of them they will eat it. My husband prefers a greasy, nasty hamburger but will eat well if it’s in front of him too.

I’m working on making better switches for me and compromising with them. At least dinner has to be decent at our house. I’ve tried the whole healthy living thing with them, forcing it on them. And it’s pretty much miserable on all of us. It’s not reality.

I have two stepchildren that do not live with us full time and they are not used to living this way. It’s not fair to completely shock their bodies like that. So I decided to make healthier substitutions. If we have spaghetti, I make it healthier. Instead of hamburger meat, I use lean venison or ground turkey. I add diced onion, bell pepper and tomato to sneak in extra veggies. Instead of regular spaghetti noodles, I substitute whole wheat noodles. It’s not a complete shock for anyone and still delicious food for everyone.

Even though the rest of my crew is eating their own way for other meals doesn’t mean I can’t make better choices. I have had a huge oatmeal craving lately. I decided to give this a try and it isn’t bad at all.

I’m also a huge fan of yogurt! I have a hard time getting in enough protein throughout my day and I am working towards increasing that. My eating has been terrible over the past month or so and I am slowly jumping back on track. I admit that I was really pushing too hard for so long and then I took a very long break to allow myself to heal. I went really extreme with a low fat, low carb, almost no food diet and that was just really extreme. For the past year I have taken the time to focus on what my body really needs and how to fuel it better. I’m still learning.

I love cottage cheese and thought I would try these. They’re okay, but I think it’s a little too sweet for me. I think I’ll just stick to my Mayfield brand without the pineapple. If it was fresh pineapple, it would have been awesome. Live and learn, I suppose.

This week one of my besties did a Throwback Thursday and I played along. Before we knew it many of our ZUMBA divas jumped in. I was so inspired by their transformations and thrilled with their progress. It motivates me to keep reaching for my goals. I’ve been on this journey for such a long time and I have had several set backs. Sometimes my health issues get in the way, sometimes I lose sight of the goal, sometimes I just lose hope, sometimes I just want tacos! So it might just take me a little longer to get there, but I will. I think I’m okay with that. And I’m okay with where I’m at right now.

 

FacebookPinterestInstagramYouTube

8 thoughts on “Foodie Friday 

  1. Lauren says:

    Try the Barilla Protein noodles too! I made Alec eat them and he loved them…..he also didn’t have a choice. It’s really good in baked spaghetti 🙂 also protein cookies….who would have thought to throw some protein in a good. The oatmeal raisin is my favorite but you also know my love for chocolate so the double chocolate chip is pretty amazing. They have them at Publix and Walgreens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thecountrydivablog says:

      I’ve got to pick up some of those cookies! Yours look delicious. I absolutely love oatmeal raisin cookies…

      I read where someone was freezing the Greek yogurt too and topping it with fruit or granola. I’m trying that next. Ha!

      Like

  2. theguardian1031 says:

    My husband and I switched out ground beef for a turkey several years ago in everything we cook that would involve it. We were pleasantly surprised to find that ground turkey holds onto seasonings so much better, which helps food taste great! Including tacos!

    Recently, instead of buying taco seasoning, we’ve been making it ourselves at home. At least that way we have control over how much salt goes into it. I usually load mine up with some guacamole, black beans, tomatoes, lettuce, and sometimes corn with a sprinkling of cheese.

    I have my own weight issues and know kind of what you mean about trying to eat healthy. Mind you, I only have one child (not three lol) who’s 2 years old. However, I did experience some “healthy food” issues when I was living with my parents. They would still cook greasy cheeseburgers and tacos. I learned to eat what they cooked, but in smaller portions. I also patted as much grease out of them as I could. Thankfully, my parents would occasionally make huge salads whenever Dad got into his “rabbit mode”. Those became lunch and dinner for several days.

    One thing that did help a little bit with my weight in my early twenties was a lot of walking and a lot of drinking water. I just repurchased the exact same 32oz water bottle I had back then and am waiting for it to arrive in the mail. It’s a pretty purple color and I was hardly ever without it. Can’t wait to start using it again.

    It may be challenging, but you can do it! Keep reaching for the stars!

    Like

    • thecountrydivablog says:

      I had no idea that ground turkey held seasonings better! I am going to have to test that out. I am starting to branch out with seasoning our foods more and I think that may really help us. How do you make your taco seasoning? One of my friends uses lettuce for her taco shells and loves it!

      Most of the time, I just have one kiddo here. I am just cut out to have one. They exhaust me!!

      Like

      • theguardian1031 says:

        I use this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/46653/taco-seasoning-i/

        I do tweak it, however. I don’t add red pepper flakes, I add about 1/2 tsp black pepper instead of the full tsp it calls for. When it’s just Hubby and I, we’ll add a little cayenne. Our son doesn’t like spicy food. I also seriously cut back on the salt. The first time I made it, I nearly choked on it because it was too salty.

        Just a friendly hint: If you’re not sure how much salt to add, start small. A saying my cooking teacher in junior year told us and it’s been stuck in my head ever since: “You can always add more, but you can’t take away.”

        I’ve heard of people using lettuce for chicken wraps and such like that, but never heard people doing it for tacos. It sounds interesting.

        LOL! Kids can be exhausting, but they’re so adorable. Ours is just starting to help out a bit with picking up his toys and putting things back where they belong. I find it to be cute. I can’t help, but smile when I watch him.

        If one kid exhausts me, I’m afraid to know what three would do to me. I can’t imagine how tired you are. Lol

        Like

      • thecountrydivablog says:

        I’m going to give it a try the next time I make tacos. Thank you! I did my grocery shopping yesterday and picked up ground turkey this time. I’m excited to try it out in a few recipes this week.

        Your little one must be young. Mine is 6. My stepchildren are a little older and it makes it easier! The 6 year old wants to help out more and it definitely gets easier the older he gets. There is hope in sight!

        Like

      • theguardian1031 says:

        He’s 2, but behind for his age from the standards of development. As far as I’ve seen in him, I will agree that it gets easier over time.

        Oh and ground turkey tends to produce less grease, so it helps. I almost forgot about that. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  3. mackmarie says:

    You just posted all my favorite things! yummy yummy! Try stevia in oatmeal with peaches and light whipped topping. Or heating up a bit of strawberry/blueberry in the microwave to make a compote and putting it in the oatmeal with stevia and brown sugar. I need to stop- I could talk oatmeal all day! Love the blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

