New Beginnings

New beginnings are exciting.

Like New Year’s resolutions… a new school year…new relationship or friendship. It’s a time for change. It means hope and happiness. Sometimes there’s a little bit of fear too. Maybe it means that you even failed at something in the past.

But this beginning is kinda like all of that. I was a blogger already and a pretty dang good one at times. Then there were times that I wasn’t. That thing called “life” got in the way. Or maybe that’s what I wanted to tell everyone and maybe even myself.

NewBeginnings

But I tend to not sugar coat things anywhere so I’m going to tell it like it is: My other blog was focused on weight loss and I was really good at it. Like 90 pounds good. But once you lose 90 pounds and have nothing really left to lose and everyone keeps coming back for more, what do you have to give?

I apologize in advance, but there’s only so many ways you can eat baked chicken. There’s only so many ways you can tell someone how you lost the weight. It’s all laid out on that other blog. I was literally spending two whole years of my life repeating myself. As a writer, it will suck the life right out of you. Yes, there are some days I want to talk about it. But most days I do not. There is so much more to me than weight loss and everyone seems to have lost sight of that.

My other issue was a growing 6 year old little boy. When I started blogging, I had no issues writing about him. I was so proud to show his little 6 month old booty off to the “world”. My little blog was nothing at the time and literally my mama and my husband’s mama were the only people reading it. I didn’t understand that the little blog would ever grow. So I put everything out there. No filter. Now that little boy is in school and there are scary people in the world. See where I’m going with this?

When people can find me or my family directly through a blog, it’s time to lock things down. I love to write and share things, but as my family grows and changes I see the need to adjust things a bit. If that means starting over and losing 6 years worth of writing, I’m absolutely fine with it. I totally get to write about everything and nothing now. It was time. I outgrew the old blog and it was time for change. I think if you stick around, we will actually talk about weight loss but we will also talk about chickens, living in the country, recipes, boating, how to balance working full time and being a wife and mama, DIY projects, traveling, organizing, Zumba® fitness, faith, friends, and whatever else happens to be on my mind.

If you don’t mind, follow along on my social media channels!

FacebookPinterestInstagramYouTube

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Crystal McClure says:

    I understand why you started over. I fear the same thing for my blog. That it will only become about my cancer, but I am semi okay with that because it is something that I have to live with and maybe through writing about my experiences I will help someone.

    Like

    • thecountrydivablog says:

      I can certainly understand that. It is healing while you’re going through it, but frustrating once you are on the other side of it or there’s not much left to say about it. Sometimes there’s only so much you can say about a certain topic, but you’re so locked in. People tend to forget we’re so much more than a diagnosis, a lifestyle or a topic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

